Leechburg's Barto Repeats as WPIAL Boys Class AA Golf Champ

Barto Beats Gunnar Riley on First Sudden Death Playoff Hole for Title
Share |

Leechburg’s Matt Barto defended his WPIAL Class AA golf title and became the ninth player ever to win the title in two consecutive years. Among others, the senior Barto joins Arnold Palmer in accomplishing this back-to-back feat. Barto shot a 3-over 75 at the Sewickley Heights Golf Club, which tied Charleroi’s Gunnar Riley and forced a sudden death playoff. Barto birdied the first hole (10th hole) of the playoff to claim the title. Barto is the first player to win consecutive titles since Mike Van Sickle from Pine Richland did so in 2003 and 2004.

The top 16 finishers of the day will move on to compete in the PIAA West Regional Tournament at Tom’s Run Golf Course . Barto and Riley’s 75’s led the field followed by Burgettstown’s Cody Dobbin with a 77, Keenan Hickton (Sewickley Academy) and Owen Miller (Burgettstown) at 78, and Max Kaminsky of Serra and Will Robinson of Winchester Thurston at 79. The rest of the top-16 include: Anothony Muscato (80), Nick Peluso (80), Sam Smallhoover (80), Johnathan Palinsky (80), Dan Vecchio (81), Alex Tanabe (81), Sam Duerr (81) and Mike Kondratik of Charleroi and Carter Ehms of Eden Christian Academy qualified on playoff holes.

PIAA West Regional Tournament will take place on Wednesday, October 15th.

The WPIAL Boys Class AA Individual Golf Championship Scoreboard:

*-Matt Barto (Leechburg) – 75
Gunnar Riley (Charleroi) – 75
Cody Dobbin (Burgettstown) – 77
Keenan Hickton (Sewickley Academy) – 78
Owen Miller (Burgettstown) – 78
Max Kaminsky (Serra) – 79
Will Robinson (Winchester Thurston) – 79
Anthony Muscato (Sewickley Academy) – 80
Jonathan Palinsky (Riverside) – 80
Nick Peluso (Laurel) – 80
Sam Smallhoover (Bishop Canevin) – 80
Dan Vecchio (Serra) – 81
Alex Tanabe (Quaker Valley) – 81
Sam Duerr (Sewickley Academy) – 81
#-Mike Kondratik (Charleroi) – 84
#-Carter Ehms (Eden Christian Academy) – 84

Walt Riggs (South Side) – 84
Michael Luketich (California) ­– 84
Matt Moore (Winchester Thurston) – 85
Max Pollock (Winchester Thurston) – 85
Noah Kunst (Kittanning) – 85
Lucas Villani (Shenango) – 86
Noah Spang (Kittanning) – 86
Jay Knable (Northgate) – 86
Tucker Skerbetz (Laurel) – 87
Joe Deegan (Seton LaSalle) – 88
Taylor Dingle (Beth-Center) – 88
David Prezzia (South Side) – 88
Josh Short (Keystone Oaks) – 88
Liam Shea (Carmichaels) – 89
Chris Tanabe (Quaker Valley) – 92
Hunter Lecker (Burgettstown) – 92
Cole Hepler (Freeport) – 92
David Wilson (South Side) – 92
Nick Finoli (Greensburg Central) – 92
Jesse Cantley (Steel Valley) – 93
Mickey Frazetta (Freeport) – 93
Colton Brown (Laurel) – 94
Evan Long (Laurel) – 94
Nathan Irgang (Mount Pleasant) – 94
Jereon Wolfe (Jeannette) – 96
Andrew Bigler (Keystone Oakes) – 97
Jim Dolan (Seton LaSalle) – 98
Kristian Skogsholm (Freedom) – 98
Jarodd Potts (New Brighton) – 99
Nick Horvath (Beaver Falls) – 101
Alex Kraisinger (Mount Pleasant) –  106
Tanner Ambrose (Quigley) – 113
Ibraheem Shaikh (Geibel) – WD

*-Won sudden death playoff
#-Qualified on sudden death playoff hole

Twitter Updates

MSA Sports Mobile Site: m.msasports.net

Visit our mobile site to view scores and photos, listen to broadcasts, read articles and more!  By logging in, you can submit content, including scores and photos!  We will review, authorize and post them as quickly as possible!   CLICK HERE to learn how.

For archived scores and broadcasts (prior to the 2011-2012 school year), click on the graphic below:

Our Latest Poll


MSA Sports Facebook Fans